Hasta la vista boob tube!


My kids slay me. 17 degrees and a north wind of about 40 MPH, the first snow of the year and the “boy” wants to go to school in a t-shirt. I stepped outside and froze my kittens right off in 2.2 seconds.

Then the other kid who is even more ridiculous tries to go to the car with NO shoes on! NONE!! Or socks! She thinks she will put them on when she gets in the car! What about taking .5 seconds to put your cozy, furry, warm boots on is that difficult BEFORE you step outside into the frozen tundra????

Ding dongs. That’s what they are. But I love em all the same. Last night I was just sitting back and “watching” them. Do you ever do this with your kids? I mean….REALLY watch them?? See what makes them tick, what makes them laugh, what makes them happy?? I got really tickled at their nonsense. Kids are very entertaining if you allow them to be. Turn off the t.v. for a night and let them have at it. Sometimes the simple things are what we need. Making the decision to get out of our normal routine and do something as silly as sitting together in the living room and playing, talking and laughing. Why is this such a hard thing to achieve? We feel like we have to have the stinkin’  T.V. blasting because we cannot come up with anything to talk about with the people we love most, the people sitting right in front of us? We depend on some stranger to make us happy? It’s weird if you think on it. It’s actually a little sick. Yes, sometimes we grow weary of those we live with day after day….but more often than not, we could really benefit from taking the time to just enjoy what was naturally put before us.

Personally, I do not need the radio blaring or the t.v screaming, or honestly, even the computer to occupy me (even though I am an internet junkie.) It has just become habit and I really do not even enjoy it. What I enjoy is seeing my family interact.

Last night I found myself just smiling as I watched them being silly. Playing in the first snow, trying to out-do one another in their acting abilities (or lack there-of in some cases.)

One night a week, go ahead, give it a whirl. Shut of the boob tube and just have everyone in the same room. I am finding that my kids cannot get enough of “family” time. They go as far as to ask for it and suggest we just sit and talk. If you do not spend the time with your kids that they crave, something else will take your place one way or another.

Don’t wait until one day you regret it.

Categories: Uncategorized

Author:onemom4rugrats

I am Rachel. I have a skewed sense of reality and I like to live through my imagination. Unfortuntely, that has taken me down some rocky roads and I am here to share some snippets of what happens when a girl has a mind of her own.

Like it? Well...subscribe then! So I can haunt you via email :)

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

One Comment on “Hasta la vista boob tube!”

  1. January 13, 2012 at 4:47 am #

    Great stuff!!! We make meal times family time when we all share our day. Kids need to know what is happening and to learn to communicate. They crave parental attention.

    By the way – internet addict – you might find this interesting http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/health-16505521

Leave a Reply

