Eat More Sushi.


So this year, instead of promising myself I am going to have a full-body make-over,  complete with new thighs and minimal arm “flab” by the year of 2013…. I am just going to be more realistic and do the things that I love. The things that make me…me. The things that are realistic. The things that do not make me feel like a failure when I fall short.  In no particular order, here are my list of “things.”

1. Buy awesome candles that smell fabulous and burn them everyday. Even when I am alone.

2. Tell people “NO.” This includes my kids. This includes my kids friends. This includes my kids, friends, parents.  This vehicle goes one way. It’s YOUR turn on the flip-side.

3. Drive to shop in another state with a girlfriend. Spend one or two nights and do not worry about who is going to feed the fam. Trust me, no one is going to dry up and blow away with this bunch… If you don’t eat, it’s your own fault!

4. Eat more sushi. Like, at least once a week if not twice. This does not mean making my own. No. I am going to buy it, at a restaurant. I may even splurge for two different kinds. I may even go and not tell a soul and when the Big Injun asks me for a lunch date I will pretend I have not eaten it for ages when he wants to go for sushi.

5. Buy avocados even when they are $2 each without guilt. I shall then go home and slice them thinly on a piece of sourdough bread, top with olive oil and greek seasoning and partake.

7. Stop sweating the small stuff. Example: If I do not get the right ingredient for a recipe I cannot sleep. I am not kidding. From now on I will not worry if I do not have it exactly right. I will not go out of my way to make a trip to the store for one ingredient. What is on hand will just have to do!

8. Become fearless. Ok, that is a lie. I am afraid of tons of stuff!! I am going to quit beating myself up for it. God made me , I cannot change the fact that I am petrified of stick shifts or bovines in general.

9. Make “date-night” a priority. Even if it means leaving the kids home alone to eat ramen noodles.

10. Patience. God, I know you did not put this quality in me. The one where I am impatient. This… I know I can change. This I know, needs to be changed. This is my true resolution. The one where I accept my kids challenges, mistakes, and even immature ways. Where I see them for what you made them to be. Where I remember their true ages,  for they are just children that have been drug through the muck by no choice of their own. Where I can see their qualities that I sometimes do not understand and realize that those things are actually aspects of their “gifts.” Help me to be a better mom, and an even better wife. Help me to be more like You.

Oh yeah, I just thought of one more:

11. I am throwing out kitchen crap. Yes the CRAP. And buying new NON-crappy stuff. This is what I do. I cook. I want to have the right tools to do the job right. So, if anyone needs any rusty, bent, dinged-up crappy kitchen utensils, bowls, towels with holes, come see me.  Yeah…. I didn’t think so.

Tags: , ,

Categories: family, humor, life

Author:onemom4rugrats

I am Rachel. I have a skewed sense of reality and I like to live through my imagination. Unfortuntely, that has taken me down some rocky roads and I am here to share some snippets of what happens when a girl has a mind of her own.

Like it? Well...subscribe then! So I can haunt you via email :)

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

