Gonna wash that gray right outta my hair!


This week I have learned two things about myself: I have claws even a momma bear would back away from…and  I can use a $7 box of color to cover up my $80 highlights.  The revelation of these two things have given me a new lease on life.

In about 6 months I will be <gulp> 40. FORTY. Four-tee…. Fort-ee….39+1…. No matter how you slice it…it is inevitable. Along with 40 comes a few grey hairs. I am tired of them. I am tired of hiding them under the guise of “blonde” highlights. Yeah that’s right. Everyone that knows me , knows that I am about as blonde as… well….OK, maybe not a good thought process going there. Anyhow, I am a brunette. Tried and true. Brunette to the very core.

Tonight I decided to opt out of a $80 salon visit and go the $7 (change your hair in 30 minutes) route. It all started when I seen a commercial for this new “foam” color treatment. I mean…who knew foam would transform your life?? I had to try it. I had to see if it was really that easy. And..it was. In fact, it even bordered on fun. There was one problemo though. I was afraid when I got done emptying my little foam cup that resembled an Icee beverage that I did not get good coverage. Like, maybe I should have opted for a second box…. like maybe I was in denial that I have hair thicker than the average Jane and that it is halfway down my back.

So, long story short, I told the Big Injun that maybe I had goofed…maybe I should have went to the salon after he found out what I was getting ready to do myself and insisted I go spend his hard-earned cash and go the “safe” route. And so I rinsed. And I examined. And I dried. And I examined. And then my kid examined. And then my other kid examined. And then my other kid said… “Mom, your hair looks AMAZING!” I told her I looked like a vixen and shooed her out of the room. OK…so there are a couple of itsy-bitsy, teensy-weensy, blonde streaks underneath, but overall it’s good. I’m back to my God-given color plus an added splash of subtle reddish…..

The other thing that rocked my world was this: I realized that I am mean. MEAN. All I have to say is this. Do not EVER mess with my kids. EVER. I will go from brunette vixen to charging, raging, hungry-caged lioness in 2.1 seconds. I did not know I had it in me. Is this natural? Am I being over-protective? I think not. If I do not, who will? I understand crossing the line of not letting them fight their own battles but when it goes beyond their control, momma lioness will come charging full-tilt boogie. And so I am mean. This is revelation. Do I feel good about it? Well, I have mixed emotions. On one hand it feels good to “protect” my young. On the other hand, it’s not in my nature to be so mean so it’s a tough pill to swallow.

Here is what I do know: I am fiercely loyal to my family. I adore, beyond ADORE my husband. I will fight to the death for all of my kids….and I am saving $73 every 6 weeks from now on.

Categories: beauty, humor, life

Author:onemom4rugrats

I am Rachel. I have a skewed sense of reality and I like to live through my imagination. Unfortuntely, that has taken me down some rocky roads and I am here to share some snippets of what happens when a girl has a mind of her own.

Like it? Well...subscribe then! So I can haunt you via email :)

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

2 Comments on “Gonna wash that gray right outta my hair!”

  1. Melanie S
    December 21, 2011 at 8:25 am #

    Yay!!!! From one natural brunette to another…Color with a friend. My friend just did my hair last week and it was more fun than just me doing it. She also had me get 2 colors so it would look more professional! Highlights are next! Go mama bear!

    • December 21, 2011 at 3:59 pm #

      I was really wishing for a friend to help. Next time I will! I have so much hair that is it impossible for me to reach it and see it all!

Leave a Reply

