Oh…OH….OH…..OKLAHOMA where the winds come tearing down your deck….


“And the earthquakes hit, the drought never quits, and the snow is  up to your pits!!”

The year is 2011. The state is Oklahoma. And I live there.  Whoa!!! What a year!!!  We started off in January with record breaking freezing temperatures. We hit -30 something below. -30 below! IN OKLAHOMA!  What the freezing heck??? We had over 2 foot of snow at one point. Awesome if you like snow…..

Anyway, that was the start of the year. Once the snow melted off and we got back to “normal,” spring had settled in nicely. For a couple of days….

And then tornado season hit. So far this year, over 100 tornadoes. UGLY, vicious, mean ones. Destructive. Devastating. Fatal. (This pic was actually taken by me in Joplin, MO which is about 1.5 hrs from me. )

So, we roll into summer. My favorite time of year. Basking in the sun, swimming, enjoying the glow of a golden tan ( it gives the illusion of covering fat you know…..)

Well, too bad we didn’t even get to enjoy that! Record breaking temps of 100-113, day after day for a couple of months. I wonder if we could fit some more kids in the pool??

And so the drought began. No rain. None. Zilch. Dry as a “powder-horn.” (What does that mean anyway?)  Burn bans, no fires, no grilling , the drought remained until what they are saying may be gone after todays rain.

Today my very favorite weather man, Travis Meyer,  is predicting 2-4″ of rain, possibly more. Possible flooding. I am watching out my window now and I do believe he is on to something…sheets and sheets of rain. Blessed rain.

Two nights ago, my children and I were getting ready for bed.  The Big Injun Man was out of town working and I was going to bask in the glory of taking up the entire bed all to myself.

So, get this. I’m on the toilet. Yes, on the toilet. And I hear the rumble of my washing machine off balance. And it got louder and louder, and I began to question … “I’ve never heard it all the way back here , it’s really loud….” I hear footsteps, then I hear 4 sets of footsteps, running, pounding down the hallway, then screaming!! EARTHQUAKE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! MOM, it’s and EARTHQUAKE!!!!!!! I knew there would be no gentle knocking on the door. “May I come in?”

I ran to my closet and threw on a robe , just as 4 kids and an earthquake entered my room. We stood there frozen as we experienced our first ever real quake. The largest one to ever hit our state. 40 plus aftershocks to proceed over the next couple of days. “Big Injun??  Can you come home NOW?? Right now?!?!? I don’t want to sleep alone!! I’m sorry for secretly looking forward to having the bed all to myself….”

And so that has been the last 10 months or so here in this great state and I can’t help but wonder what is next in store for us…..       Oh….OH, OKLAHOMA!!!!!!!!!!!!!

They couldn't pick a better time to start in life 
It ain't too early and it ain't too late 
Starting as a farmer with a brand new wife 
Soon be living in a brand new state
 Brand new state, gonna treat you great! Gonna give you barley, carrots and pertaters 
Pasture fer the cattle, spinach and termayters
 Flowers on the prarie where the June bugs zoom 
Plen'y of air and plen'y of room
Plen'y of room to swing a rope 
Plen'y of heart and plen'y of hope
 Oklahoma! 
Where the wind comes sweeping down the plain
Where the waving wheat 
Can sure smell sweet
When the wind comes right behind the rain Oklahoma!
 Every night my honey-lamb and I 
Sit alone and talk 
And watch a hawk 
Making lazy circles in the sky 
 We know we belong to the land
 And the land we belong to is grand 
And when we say Yeeow!
Ayipioeeay! Yeeow! 
We're only saying "You're doin' fine Oklahoma" 
Oklahoma O-K O-K-L-A-H-O-M-A Oklahoma! 
Tags: , , , , ,

Categories: humor, weather

Author:onemom4rugrats

I am Rachel. I have a skewed sense of reality and I like to live through my imagination. Unfortuntely, that has taken me down some rocky roads and I am here to share some snippets of what happens when a girl has a mind of her own.

Like it? Well...subscribe then! So I can haunt you via email :)

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

3 Comments on “Oh…OH….OH…..OKLAHOMA where the winds come tearing down your deck….”

  1. jlynn
    November 7, 2011 at 12:43 pm #

    Soooo true! Love reading the articles from you. Keep it up!

  2. November 8, 2011 at 6:28 am #

    That’s some crazy weather! Makes me glad to live in this boring, predictable area, for once.

    An earthquake while you’re on the toilet, of all places. 🙂

  3. November 10, 2011 at 4:01 am #

    Great contrasts.

    Momfog, coming from NZ, I can assure you earthquakes are no respecters of personal calls of nature!

Leave a Reply

