Take me out to the …..chiropractor.


Yesterday the Big Injun asked me if I wanted to play “Annie Over.” I thought it may have been the sweetest invite ever. First of all, who plays Annie Over anymore, especially when you’re an adult? Secondly, it was just cute. We were playing basketball before that and were reminiscing about when we were kids. We spent hours throwing a ball over the roof while another person was on the other side to watch it roll down and catch it, then sending it back over again.  And so we played. I was already sore from starting back to Zumba after being out for months. And then we had played basketball the night before too, and I had sprained my ankle a couple of weeks prior and my foot has been having spasms and went into shock when I gave it a little work-out.  Well, I was on the front side of the house where there is a retaining wall so I stood above it because I could not see the roof if I was going to play below it. The problem was that about every other time “Annie” came “over” it would land below the wall. So I would have to climb down and get it and climb back up. This normally wouldn’t have been a problem….oh…say 20 years ago. But I am out of shape. MAJORLY . It was wearing on me and I finally came to the back side of the house where the most darling man alive was standing ..waiting on “Annie” and I told him that it was “over.”

Soooo…between the Zumba, basketball, sprained ankle and “Annie Over”…. it had taken its toll.

I’m older than dirt. Ok, I’m only 39 but I feel older than dirt. This morning I bent down and threw my back out. I did notice that last night my back was hurting and when I got out of bed this morning I could hardly walk. But, it went away and I felt normal again. And then I bent down and I knew it wasn’t going to be good for business. I was literally stuck while bent half-way over and had to make my way to the recliner where I managed to sit down, which was more painful than when I had my first-born. So….now I am stuck here which is not good for a girl with a small bladder. I am hoping when I try to get up that I will have imagined it all but I don’t think so. I may be down for the count for a while.

Here is the other problem. It’s “date night.” I do not want to miss it. I love it! The kids go to a youth service and we go eat. Just the two of us. We talk about things we normally do not get to talk about. We eat at stupid places that we would never confess to. We cherish those two hours as if it were 2 weeks. And then it’s back to reality. Back home. Back to 4 kids. Back to guinea pigs who needs its toe nails clipped, back to kids who half-donkey their chores, back to the mailbox that fell off its rotted base when I opened it yesterday…back to life.

So, as I sit here, cursing the surgeon who was supposed to fix my tiny bladder when I was three…I wonder, will there be a “date night” tonight? I’m guessing NO. I just crawled to the bathroom and wished for narcotics. I’m pretty sure, this “Annie” is “OVER.”

Tags: , , ,

Categories: health, humor, life

Author:onemom4rugrats

I am Rachel. I have a skewed sense of reality and I like to live through my imagination. Unfortuntely, that has taken me down some rocky roads and I am here to share some snippets of what happens when a girl has a mind of her own.

Like it? Well...subscribe then! So I can haunt you via email :)

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

2 Comments on “Take me out to the …..chiropractor.”

  1. October 13, 2011 at 10:39 pm #

    Clipping the guinea pigs toenails should TOTALLY be the hubby’s job! YUCK! Hope your back is back in action soon. If you’re like mine, my kids only half-donkey their chores when I’m up and supervising. Otherwise, they don’t do them at all!

  2. October 13, 2011 at 10:50 pm #

    Around here it’s no ones job, everyone hates it! We are afraid of hurting her more than anything so we just put it off. I’m going to make one of the kids do it. My back is still out, it’s as severe as it has ever been. I am going to the chiro for the 3rd day in a row tomm. And yes, they did not do them AT ALL once they found out I did not have the energy to supervise. So, dad got on them today and they did it.

Leave a Reply

