Oh My Self-Sustained Land!


“I swam with my cell phone for an hour in my pocket….” “Can you buy me Crest 3D White toothpaste?” “My new backpack broke!”  “Can all three of us take dance lessons?”

5th, 6th, 7th and 8th graders. Stair-steps. Leeches. Money-sucking critters. My kids. I love them so.

I am thinking about opening up a little commune right here on my 3 acres. It would be perfect. I grow a huge garden, we build little houses for each child with no electricity, we build a little school-house, a small chapel, get rid of all of our cars and electronics and live off the land. Simple. No one could ask for anything. There is a creek behind the house, I see wash-boards at estate sales all the time, remind me to pick a couple of them up. Self-sustained. That’s where it’s at. We wouldn’t be fat, we wouldn’t be bored,  we wouldn’t be going through money like it was water, and….we might actually use our very own imaginations.

I know, I’ve always been a “dreamer.” I think things should go one way, the perfect way and it ends up on the total opposite end of the spectrum. Always.  Being a “dreamer” has always been my downfall. I expect the best in people, I expect life to go like it goes in my perfect world, in my colorful , fairy-tale, state of mind. But…it does not.

Here is reality, my kids need something every day. Usually monetary. Last night the Big Injun and I were talking briefly. I never asked my parents for money that I can remember. But that was because they did not have any. So, I just “knew” not to. And he never asked his parents because he worked his rear-end off for his own money.  So……………………this leads me to the question… should our kids not ask us for money?? Well, yes…and no. I think anyway. Obviously things are different today, and unfortunately we have to conform to some of them, we have zero choice. Such as… we spent around $200 in school supplies alone this year. RIDICULOUS. RI-DIC-U-LOUS.!

That is not the children’s fault. But whose is it? When I was a kid, we took a couple of notebooks, some #2 pencils and called it good.

Let me give you a brief rundown of only *some* of the things the kids had to take this year:

Approx 14 boxes of Kleenex.

4 bottles of hand sanitizer.

20 packs of loose-leaf paper.

100 pencils.

25 red pens.

Latex gloves.

About one million notebooks.

Scissors  x 4.

Rulers x 4.

Protractors x 4.

Markers x 4.

Colored pencils x 4.

Folders x 1 million.

Binders.

Pocket dividers by the gilli-gobs.

Back packs

And the list goes on…and on…and on….

Oh yeah,  and don’t forget new clothes.

So, these things are all pretty much “required.”  We manage, but I see why people have to ask for help, I see why there are programs that give away vouchers for school clothes, for supplies etc. But have we, as a society painted ourselves into this “situation” where we deem all these things “necessary?” I think so. And I do not like it.

So I’m building a self-sustained community. We do not have Crest 3D white toothpaste. We use baking soda like my grandma still does…. we do not have 14 thousand containers of hand sanitizer, we will be using the creek to wash our hands, we need one notebook and 3 pencils a year and that is it.  No stinkin’ Mazzios pizza everyday for lunch (this SICKENS me by the way…) we will be eating what God naturally put on this earth. Fruits & veggies. We will not be sick because of the garbage we put in our bodies, we will be healthy because we are not sitting in front of an electronic eating puffed cheezie thingys…. we shall learn to sew, by hand, making our own clothes, and we won’t be making very many because we know the effort it takes to wash them and we will wear them until they are actually dirty.

I see why people resort to this way of life. I am pretty sick and tired of the “necessities” we think we need, the money being spent and the attitude of “hand it over” for nothing in return.

KIDS, you want your special toothpaste, your Biore strips, your CD’s, your phones and your slushies? Do something without having to be told…..do something above and beyond what is asked, do something to show your appreciation and get off of your DONKIES or you’ll be riding a donkey to the little school-house I am going to be building, when we live inside these confines of our self-sustained community.

Tags: , ,

Categories: family, humor, life, money

Author:onemom4rugrats

I am Rachel. I have a skewed sense of reality and I like to live through my imagination. Unfortuntely, that has taken me down some rocky roads and I am here to share some snippets of what happens when a girl has a mind of her own.

Like it? Well...subscribe then! So I can haunt you via email :)

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

One Comment on “Oh My Self-Sustained Land!”

  1. August 23, 2011 at 11:49 am #

    Amen Sister, Amen!

Leave a Reply

