DRUGS, oh how I love thee!


The first step is to admit that you have a problem. It’s official, I am a junkie. A pill popper, a druggie if you will. Since you all “seen” me last, my life has changed dramatically. It’s been a few months right? I fell off the face of the earth, I went into hiding and I became a drug user.

I make no apologies. My life has been given back to me, in the form of pills.

The last 10 years of my life went a little something like this:

I have not slept.

The end.

I was starting to feel a lil’ bit O’ crankiness,  just a tad. You can ask my family. They like to talk about it.  The thing was, that I just figured that this was how it was going to be. Me growing older, not sleeping well, being generally irritable , absolutely zero energy and lashing out randomly due to complete and utter exhaustion.

This all started when I became pregnant with my first child 12 years ago. I started noticing my legs were giving me fits in the night. I went to the Dr. and he told me I had “Restless Leg Syndrome.”  Turns out it runs in my family. And so he told me to eat a banana. I’d like to shove a banana in his face right now because unless you have ever experienced RLS, you know no stinkin’ nanner is going to do a lick of good! All you want to do is cut off your legs and die. Night after night after night…………. drifting off, legs jerking you awake, aching, muscles tightening, and if it’s bad enough, even going up into your arms.

And so I had a second child. And I got divorced due to “Restless Husband Syndrome” and so my insurance went out the window along with my sanity.

Fast forward 10 years:

I remarried and the “Biggest Injun Man” of them all thinks I’m crazy. But,  he quietly puts his ginormous leg on mine at night from time to time to “hold it in place” or he keeps me stocked up on homeopathic “drugs” that barely take the edge off.

In the meantime I have developed other “issues” over the years. Remember still no insurance…and not a single visit to the doctor including my yearly “womanly” visits and there was also nothing even remotely “regular” about my cycle.  I would also find myself getting very sick around the lunch hour if I had eaten breakfast. So I stopped eating breakfast for the most part or I would become really sick in about 10 seconds. Faint, sweaty, shaky, nausea, in fact one time I did flat-out faint. I have no idea how long I was “down there” but I collapsed in my own bathroom.  I knew it was time to get some help. Enough was enough.

I found a Dr. around the Tulsa area. With no insurance I was afraid but this particular clinic was different. They work on a “membership” plan. Basically it’s like this. You pay a very low monthly membership fee and anytime you need to be seen, no matter what it is for…x-rays, blood work, strep throat, it is $50 period. Was it too good to be true? I was going to find out , and that I did.

And wouldn’t you know it, it was that easy! And to top it off, the Dr. had suffered from RLS as well and understood what I was going through. So he prescribed me the same drug he was taking. I was afraid to take it. But I was desperate. Also in the meantime he wanted blood work, he felt he already knew what was going on, and he was right. My blood sugar was high. NOT diabetic, but close if I did not get control of it. This was causing me to gain weight, basically everything I was eating was storing as fat, this was causing irregular cycles, etc….. long story short…I got on drugs for both issues. High blood sugar and RLS.  INSTANTLY overnight….I felt like a new person. I slept for the first time in 10 years, I wake up and actually want to get up in the mornings.  And I can almost already feel the pounds coming off (I just started the meds for the blood sugar) and I honestly just feel like I got my life back. Fo’ realzzz………..I know it sounds crazy but I am ecstatic to be a drug user.

I hope to report back soon with a major weight loss , but if nothing else I am rested. And for that I am a better wife, mom and friend (hopefully.)

Our summer was good, today all the kids are finally back in school and I shall resume my blog on a regular basis again. As hard as I tried, I could not write or concentrate with anyone being home, especially the 4 (not so little) maggots. But I’m back baby!!!!!

Tags: , , , , , ,

Categories: health, humor

Author:onemom4rugrats

I am Rachel. I have a skewed sense of reality and I like to live through my imagination. Unfortuntely, that has taken me down some rocky roads and I am here to share some snippets of what happens when a girl has a mind of her own.

Like it? Well...subscribe then! So I can haunt you via email :)

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

11 Comments on “DRUGS, oh how I love thee!”

  1. August 22, 2011 at 11:22 am #

    Ahh, drugs and doctors…what would we do without them? http://wp.me/p1Cvgh-85

  2. August 22, 2011 at 3:39 pm #

    Hi Rachel, I just read your blog and I am delighted to hear you are doing well. I get that RLS myself sometimes it’s horrible you just cannot sleep with it. I started to do yoga at home (too expensive to go to classes) and I am finding it works well for me. I am from Ireland, and I can’t believe if you don’t have insurance it’s so hard to see a doctor. I know it’s expensive for us here to see a doctor €60 but when your unemployed (as I am) you get free health care. Any way so glad your back on form and I look forward to reading more of your blogs.
    Ann

    • August 23, 2011 at 9:36 am #

      Thank you Ann for reading. You can see a Dr here with no insurance but it is very expensive. What I ended up having done would have normally been outrageous so I am thankful to have found a place to help me. I am unemployed but cannot get free healthcare. The rest of my family has insurance via other avenues though so I am glad they have not went without 🙂

  3. August 23, 2011 at 1:36 am #

    Welcome back! I’m glad you’ve got some relief without resorting to drug borrowing and the subsequent lip, er, side effects. 🙂

  4. August 23, 2011 at 8:45 am #

    Welcome back from me too. Glad to see you have got some medical help! Sometimes we DO need medication.

    • August 23, 2011 at 9:33 am #

      Thank you! Hope all is well with you, I need to catch up on your blog!

  5. August 24, 2011 at 11:34 am #

    You know I feel your pain. My story went a lot like yours, only without the divorce, add two more babies. Hope you got some good drugs. I’m off to take mine right now.

  6. August 27, 2011 at 9:16 pm #

    Glad you can sleep again – I have minor RLS, so I can just imagine…. thankfully most of the time I am okay, but my hubby totally does not understand why I twitch and fidget constantly!!! I just want to smack him around when he “orders” me to keep still!!!! (possibly that’s the menopause talking though! HA!)

  7. August 30, 2011 at 3:13 pm #

    Hilarious. I love it. 🙂

Leave a Reply

