3rd times a charm? Yes he is!


I never believed in the old adage of “3rd times a charm!” Until now. In fact I was starting to believe in nothing or no one at all.

When I was 11 years old, I remember a little boy a year younger and I coming to visit with his parents and his brother. He was donning some serious overalls and boots, he made up a name for my dog that was all wrong and frankly on that first meeting I was less than impressed. I mean….how dare he call my dog who was lovingly named “MeWuk….”  “Bee Bee?” Ugh. Go away you stupid boy from Oklahoma, this is Arkansas and we do things different here!

But, that would not be the case. His parents and mine became fast friends. We went to their house, and vice-versa. And then the kicker, he became my closest boy cousins best bud. They went everywhere together, and he also worked for my neighbor when he started Jr. high.  There was no use in holding a grudge, I decided I might as well befriend the boy.

We became great friends, more so outside of school. The family had a connection but we more or less passed one another in the hallways with maybe a occassional jab or poke but that was it. When we got outside of the school setting things were a little different. We would mainly laugh about things only him and I deemed hilarious. When I say laugh… I do mean laugh. For hours and hours. The funny thing was that he was pretty shy but I noticed not around me so much, for I was just “one of the guys.” 

As years went by, we continued being friends, but over the years I noticed *something* had changed with him. He started acting a little different towards me and I *knew* beyond any doubt that he was starting to think of me less as a friend and more as someone he was attracted to.

But I brushed it off. There was no sense in taking this friendship to the next level, after all, his friendship meant more to me than that and if we did not survive a relationship, I was not willing to risk it. And so we carried on laughing…all the while with me “knowing.”

His Jr. prom was coming up and it was also my Sr. prom. I remember standing by my locker and looking up to see the tallest guy in the school barreling over me. Again, with the clothes…this time it was a western shirt with snaps and boots…with a long duster. Yes, I said a duster. No one in the entire school dared wear one of those! (Oh yeah,  and just to clarify…he also had on jeans.) Now imagine if you will, a southern boy, 6’3″ around 250 lbs, a football player coming up to me in what would be his normal paced voice…and then speed it up 100x… “Will you go to the prom with me?” “Yes, I will go.”   OK!” And off he flew down the hall, clippity-clop in his boots.

“I sure hope he realizes this is JUST as friends!” And boy did he ever!! He came to get me, we went to prom with another couple, we did not dance, went to bowling and he did not utter 2 words to me and then he brought me home. <WHEW!> He had passed the friendship “test.”

After that I went off to college for a couple of years, but in between I would come home. And strangely enough, he would always know when I came home, and would appear at my moms door. We would go out on the town, acting silly, laughing, riding around and just having fun. One summer we decided to go canoeing with a group of friends. As the day wore on we had become so sucked into our little world of ridiculousness that everyone left us.  In fact, they looked at us like we were certifiable. One guy that was riding with us made us stop the truck and let him get in with someone else. We were out of control! But we did not care because NO-ONE had what we had, and that was a mutual understanding of humor. Did I mention I was engaged to a guy from college at this time? <Uh..Oh…>

That would be one of my last memories of my friend for the next 15 years. He went one way, and I another. And I never, ever stopped thinking of him, wondering what he was doing, and had he married?  I found out from his brother that he had at one point. And for the first time where it concerned him, I remember feeling a little bit jealous. And I had married and divorced. Not once…but twice. It was not working. Girls, let me tell you…when the Lord said do not become unequally yoked….besides not marrying an unbeliever, I think He also meant… “SOUTHERN GALS…DON’T MARRY A YANKEE!”

Fast forward 15 years. We were both doubly divorced with two children each. We lived within 1 1/2 of one another and the Lord seen fit that it was time. The details in between are amazing and way too lengthy to get into but we had finally reconnected. We seen one another for the first time in March and we were married in June. What was the point in a long engagement? To get to know one another? No point in that. Besides….you never REALLY get to know someone until you are married to them anyway…….

Today is our 4th anniversary. I absolutely marvel at where we are in our lives. I remember that little boy in overalls, I remember that big boy in a duster, asking me ever so quickly to the prom. I remember this man, 4 years ago today,  asking me to marry him. Yes, it was the DAY of our marriage. No frills, nothing but us, in our street clothes, in front of a JP.

I married the kindest, sweetest, most self-less man. He has an old-fashioned work ethic, he is smart, he is shy, he is strong. He makes me feel safe.  He still makes me laugh every single day. He still will not dance with me, but he has loved me from the very beginning. No one else can say that. 

Happy Anniversary to my Big Injun Man, I love you!

Tags: ,

Categories: humor, life, love, marriage

Author:onemom4rugrats

I am Rachel. I have a skewed sense of reality and I like to live through my imagination. Unfortuntely, that has taken me down some rocky roads and I am here to share some snippets of what happens when a girl has a mind of her own.

Like it? Well...subscribe then! So I can haunt you via email :)

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

4 Comments on “3rd times a charm? Yes he is!”

  1. June 15, 2011 at 1:37 pm #

    How sweet. Congratulations on your anniversary!

  2. June 15, 2011 at 2:48 pm #

    Adorable! Happy Anniversary!

  3. lifewith4cats
    June 16, 2011 at 10:20 am #

    happy anniversary! What a lovely history.

  4. June 17, 2011 at 9:23 am #

    Sweet!!! Happy Anniversary, and best wishes for lots and lots more happy years and good laughs!

Leave a Reply

