What in the wide-open un-raptured world? Momma’s lost her moxie.


 

The kids are out of school for the summer…and with their day-time presence, I’ve seemingly lost my moxie. The “zone” in which I have to mentally enter in order to blog has been invaded. And my quiet time went out the door with my kitty cat’s new-found fascination for the blue jay.

I am thrilled that school is out, for I am NOT a morning person. I love to sleep in just a bit longer and stay up at night as long as there is a tiny morsel of alertness left in my body. But…. I can already tell, it has thrown me off mentally. Apparently I have a routine when it comes to priming myself up to write. I have to drop off the kids at school, and as soon as they are out of the car I begin “brainstorming” all the way home. I then have to grab a cup of coffee, sit in a specific chair, turn off the t.v. and order complete silence.

So now I am panicked! What am I going to do? Four kids at home?? T.V.’s blaring, music is booming, and just this very minute I heard ….”Punch me! Hannah…punch me!!!!!!!!!!” And then I heard the sound of flesh hitting flesh. Oh yeah, and “please mom..can the dog come in? She is scared of storms….” Four kids, one dog, a guinea pig, a turtle, a cat and me… will I ever find my moxie again?

Yes. In a week or so. All the kids will be gone for a while for the summer to their other parents. I will not allow the dog to come in and I will be sitting here all alone after my cat ventures out on her new discovery of the outside world….  I will have found my zeal, and I will have written something seemingly witty (at least in my mind…) and I will be wishing my kids back.

Silence is good to a degree. But sometimes it means that you are lonely, and that you have too much time to think. It may mean that you have lost someone you love. That you are in-capable of having kids. Or that you are just mean. I prefer hearing the sounds of… “hit me Hannah!!!!!”….”can we let the dog in?” …..mom…would you like some of these vienna sausages that we smothered in BBQ sauce?”

I can write next fall. Who cares….  Give me the summer with my kids. Let’s play and soak up the sun. I already miss them and they are not gone yet.

We are not promised tomorrow. While the world remains intact and the Lord tarries, the fact of the matter is that we should live today as it is our last. I indirectly know people who have lost their lives in these tornadoes. They did not know that would be their last day.

Do not look outside of what is standing right before you. What God has already given you is enough. There is *nothing* better outside of your world. Please, do not let devastation and destruction rock your world before you realize it.

My 12-year-old son just ran through here singing…. “I’m a grown man and I still eat a snack!” Little voices, songs, the sounds of laughter. 

Now it’s:     “I’m boiling *something*…don’t worry…. I’m a 12-year-old boy…”

I’d trade my life for nothing.

Tags: , , , ,

Categories: children, dogs, life, writing

Author:onemom4rugrats

I am Rachel. I have a skewed sense of reality and I like to live through my imagination. Unfortuntely, that has taken me down some rocky roads and I am here to share some snippets of what happens when a girl has a mind of her own.

Like it? Well...subscribe then! So I can haunt you via email :)

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

5 Comments on “What in the wide-open un-raptured world? Momma’s lost her moxie.”

  1. May 23, 2011 at 4:43 pm #

    I’ve missed you. My kids are out, too. It’s definitely an adjustment, but like you said, it’s totally worth it.
    We’re a lot alike–lots of kids and the night owl syndrome.

    • May 24, 2011 at 1:21 am #

      Thank you ….and yes we are very much alike in many ways 🙂

  2. Cindie
    May 23, 2011 at 10:22 pm #

    I totally agree, nothing is more important than the time I get to spend with my family, and I know one day I will miss hearing my kids fight! My mom always says that she wishes her house was cluttered again with toys, now it’s a bit lonely without all the chaos!!

    BTW – I have to turn off my TV to read your blog, I enjoy it that much and want to give it my full attention =)

    • May 24, 2011 at 1:22 am #

      Cindie, you are too sweet. You know I love you to pieces. TV off? I feel so honored! 🙂

  3. May 24, 2011 at 8:20 am #

    if you take a bloggy vacation to spend time with your kids, we will totally understand. 😉 enjoy the moments as they happen!

Leave a Reply

