Poppa’s pude-wudes. My best friends.


One thousand one….one thousand two, one thousand three……………. GHOST-TOWN!!!!!!!!!!!!

All I can hear is the crunch of leaves, distant whispers and giggles, I see the flicker of a lightning bug here or there…and the sounds of someone yelling “GHOST-TOWN!” But then I hear cries, see torn clothes and witness blood-shed. Two of my cousins had run into the barbed-wire fence in the dark, and the fence won. Our game of “Ghost-town” was over. On this night anyway.

But many more were to come. Hours and even days of non-stop playing games. Laughing so hard that negativity has no place, no, not with my cousins. Not with poppa’s pude-wudes/pude-a-wudes.  There is an ongoing debate which one he called us cousins…cast your vote now family!

Not many people can say that their best friends are those that they knew from the day they were born. A lot of us have best friends from grade school and high school that are still very special “best” friends…but no one who has that bond with their cousins can argue that there is just something special about cousins. Some have one or two but I have an entire slew! 17 first cousins on my mother’s side and any one of us can attest to the fact that there are no strangers among us. Put any of us in the “mix” together and we are going to be happy, laughing and right where we want to be.

Growing up in Arkansas had its benefits. I played outside. On the farm, in the barn, on hay bales, in the creek, fished in the ponds and loved every second of it. But only if my cousins were there. I would drop anything….ANYTHING to play with them, and I still do.

We are now all in our mid 30’s on up to 50’s and nothing has changed much. Some people who have married into the family have came and went…but one thing remains…our bond. Our friendships and love for another.

Between all of us, we live across Texas, Oklahoma and Arkansas but that does not stop us from getting together. Generally we meet up at our Mammaw’s farm in Arkansas and wad up together as long as time allows.  You can count on a simple card game turning into HOURS of non-stop nonsense. One summer when I was just a kid, we had an ongoing Monopoly game that lasted a week solid.

The boys were especially ornery when they were younger. Three words sums it up. The Purse Trick.” And on that subject I shall not elaborate….. but they kept Mammaw, a somewhat quiet woman generally, laughing until tears were streaming down her face.

One summer they came up from the creek saying they had found some dead kittens. And giant footprints. And for years I believed that the “Boggy Creek Monster” had resided there and was a vicious killer amongst the wild. No one has cleared that up just yet and so actually,  I still wonder………..

Have you ever made a fort in the barn? Square hay bales, stacked from floor to ceiling and tunnels from one end of the barn to the next? Oh my word! I am thinking about that now and I think I would have a coronary if my kids were playing like we were. It was a wonder we did not get buried alive, swept down the creek, fell out of the loft of the barn or maimed by barbed-wire fences…(Oh wait, we did…)

I would not trade those memories for anything. “Fiercely loyal” is a understatment when it comes to any single one of us. Last summer we started a “cousins only” get together. I look forward to the ones in the future. There really is something to be said about “blood being thicker than water.” Speaking of blood again….one time I watched my bestest of the bestest ever cousins take off on her bike down a steep hill..and hit gravel and lost control. Not a pretty site. The poor girl was covered from head to toe in blood, it even ran down into her Famolares. Remember these?

Now I want a pair. Ebay here I come…

 

 

To my cousins. I love you all. You are all my “favorite” cousins. And my best friends.

 

Tags: , , ,

Categories: family, humor, relationships

Author:onemom4rugrats

I am Rachel. I have a skewed sense of reality and I like to live through my imagination. Unfortuntely, that has taken me down some rocky roads and I am here to share some snippets of what happens when a girl has a mind of her own.

Like it? Well...subscribe then! So I can haunt you via email :)

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

3 Comments on “Poppa’s pude-wudes. My best friends.”

  1. arbonne4u
    May 19, 2011 at 12:28 pm #

    Bawling over here……You are so right about all of it! We have one special family that started with two EXTRAORDINARY PEOPLE!

    • May 19, 2011 at 3:55 pm #

      🙂

    • April 19, 2014 at 5:15 am #

      I really apatceipre free, succinct, reliable data like this.

Leave a Reply

