I know….write.


The other day my kids found some of my old report cards…and it’s true… a few had “F’s” on them. Math, Science…oh, and even Social Studies….. OK, everything except English, Reading/Writing/Spelling. Basically the “arts.” Anything that required too much brain power went out the window right off the bat. Actually I do not think there was ever even a window…..

I skated though high school and got by with just enough to graduate. Oddly enough…I LOVED school. Could not wait to get there and hated when the day was ending. Why?? Because I was a social butterfly. I loved people. I loved social settings and I loved “trying” to make people laugh. Just ask my teachers. Because on those same report cards…every single one of them said “Talks too much!”  “Excusez-moi??”  Me?? Talks too much? Well….OK then. I will just write. And so I did. I wrote term papers, I wrote stories and I wrote essays. I did them with as much vigor as I had put into my math homework. In other words… I slopped them together on paper and handed them in , just hoping to skim by. And then I started talking again.  But my work was coming back with “A’s??”  I did not understand, I was just writing and it was easy. I had not even tried…  One time in college my Freshman English professor read my story out loud to the entire class and said she thought it was the best work she had seen in this particular assignment she had given out. I was pretty embarrassed when she read it because I really thought it was typical.

Well, fast-forward 20 years and now I have begun writing again. I had literally quit for all of those years but one thing that I never stopped doing was reading. I have always loved to read! A few months ago I decided to try and write some things down that were personal to me…because I had heard that it could be therapeutic. But it was sappy and serious. And I hated its guts. So I quit. Blogging was STOOPID. Blogging was NOT for me. “Writing is for people who are “intelligent” and have something worth saying…..” Plus….*if* I were to write the way that it is swirling around inside my head…it will just come out wrong. WRONG!

But… I have had a revelation! There is NO wrong way to write!!

The right way…is your way! In fact, it will not even be good if you are worried that someone elses way is right! People love you,  for you! So just be YOU when you write! I was petrified to go “public” on publishing my little dinky blog. But a few friends and family read it . I thought they were lying to me to appease me…and then I noticed they were always reading and more and more people would approach me saying they enjoyed and loved reading my “silliness!”

I will be 40 next year. Too bad it took me this long to figure out something that I love doing. I wish I had taken my cue back in school that perhaps something that came so natural to me could also possibly be a gift.  There are days that I have stuff swarming around in my head and I cannot even concentrate until I get it “out” there in some form of text. I literally stopped on the side of the road the other day to write some things down before I forgot them…

This year my youngest has really struggled in math. Yet she excels at reading and spelling. I was angry with her at first but I have to give her a little bit of slack in this area because I know she comes by it honestly. And guess what? Her report cards say the same things mine did. “Talks too much…”  <gulp.> I do not know if that is good or bad.  And I know that there is a fine line that I have to be careful with here…..

If I could go back to college I would have majored in journalism. And please do not tell me to go back to college. NO THANKS. (I’d have to pass a math class which is why I did not finish college to begin with….)

Anyhow, point being…. if you are leery to write because you think it is wrong…it’s not wrong. It’s right, because it is you!  And it’s fun! Go crazy with it !

 

Tags: , , , ,

Categories: people, writing

Author:onemom4rugrats

I am Rachel. I have a skewed sense of reality and I like to live through my imagination. Unfortuntely, that has taken me down some rocky roads and I am here to share some snippets of what happens when a girl has a mind of her own.

Like it? Well...subscribe then! So I can haunt you via email :)

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

6 Comments on “I know….write.”

  1. May 16, 2011 at 4:11 pm #

    Well said! I think most people get nervous when they go public. I had to learn the “Devil may care” attitude and I haven’t looked back. Well, maybe just a peek. 🙂

  2. Jim
    May 16, 2011 at 5:13 pm #

    OMG, I could’ve written this myself! It’s so on point. Of course, I am far too busy talking and twitting from person to person to try to make them laugh that I just don’t have time to write! LOL! Your entry is so well written and says it perfectly.

  3. lifewith4cats
    May 16, 2011 at 11:35 pm #

    You love talking. I love reading what you say. Thats a good combo. Great post btw.

  4. May 17, 2011 at 11:04 am #

    Great post! I talked way too much in school too – my problem now is that my funny stories don’t translate to the written word very well. But I’m okay with that! I am blogging the way it works for me, and have to be satisfied with making people laugh in person rather than in print. (they’re laughing WITH me, right??? LOL)

  5. May 17, 2011 at 11:22 am #

    Love it! I am the exact same way…same thing on my report cards, too, and if I did report cards for my kids here at home, they might ALL have that same comment. And they all hate math. Hmmm, seeing genetics at work here…. 🙂

  6. May 18, 2011 at 12:55 pm #

    I like reading what you love writing! Win-win! 🙂

Leave a Reply

