Yesterday…all my troubles seemed so far away….


Yesterday was my 39th birthday. I want to tell you about it….because it was so stinkin’ AWESOME!!

The last memorable birthday I remember was when I was 9. My 9th Birthday ←Trust me, you’re going to want to read it…after all, it involves a cow.

After my 9th birthday I had maybe one more good one. My mom gave me a surprise 16th birthday. She invited all my friends and cousins over and we had a huge water fight. Trust me when I tell you that it put all of those little, snobby rich girls Sweet 16 parties on MTV to shame. And it was FREE.

So naturally when I woke up yesterday I had anxiety. It was the first day of the last of my “youth.” Yes, in your 30’s….you are still considered young(ish.) I was turning 39 and for some reason it felt like it was the beginning of the year of dread. The beginning of the year…before *the* year.

But it started out pretty good. First when I woke up and checked my Facebook, I had over 100 birthday wishes already! WOOOOOOOO HOOOOO! I felt so loved!! And every time a new one came in, my phone would “ding a ling” telling me so! I was starting to feel “famous” by 8:30 a.m.  

Also, this week my 4 kids made up a new “game.”  At first I heard them going around the house saying.. “Hey, do me a solid…” and  I was like…”What in the cat-hair are they talking about?” Then I figured out that a “solid” was a favor. But then they had to take turns doing “solids” for one another. So I joined in the fun when the kids asked me for a second popsicle. (What’s up with all this popsicle talk lately anyway??) “Yeah, I’ll do you a solid…you can have 2 popsicles today!!” (BTW, that’s a pretty substantial “solid” since that equates to 8 popsicles.) They were estatic…until a few minutes later I cashed in on my “solid.” “Do me a solid and clean up the kitchen!” YES! I liked this game!!

And so…for my birthday, I got a “coupon” book with free hugs, free kisses and an entire page of coupons for “free solids” that I FULLY intend on cashing in through-out the remainder of my “youth.”

Then “Big Injun Man” texted me and said…”Do you want to meet for a birthday lunch?” Ummmm…”Does a bear poop in the woods?????” And so I began getting dressed for my sushi date with by far, my favorite man ever. When I went to Branson last weekend my cousin showed me how to curl my hair with my flat iron. I must say…it is quite innovative and pleasing to ones eye. And so I was trying to curl it and it was working OK…but as I was doing so..I was silently cursing my girls for always stealing my CHI. They have used it and used it and I basically just quit using it because it was either one…never in my bathroom anymore…and two, it had lost its original “zest” for straightening. Also while I was curling my 10 pounds of hair…a random thought popped into my head…literally out of nowhere. I know some of you will not believe me…that darling Injun of mine did not when I told him….but this was the thought…. “Wouldn’t it be awesome to be “Freshly Pressed” on my birthday?” And I went on curling. And listening to the “ding-a-lings” of the birthday greetings….

I finally checked my phone to read them and I noticed on my emails that I had a lot of comments on my blog. People I had never “seen” before. And I opened one of them and all I seen screaming out at me was “Congrats on being Freshly Pressed!” At first I thought it was another sick “April/May Fools” joke that WordPress played….but no…oh no…I ran to my computer with a few unattended hair locks…and it was true. Not 30 minutes after the “thought” had come to me! Get out-of-town! This was awesome! I already had more hits in less than one hour of being FP than on my best day ever statistic wise. Very cool birthday gift Word Press. THANK YOU!

And so a little lighter on my feet and rockin’ the “tousled” hair look…I set out for my lunch date. It was awesome…..sushi at Bill & Ruth’s. We started looking at my stats on my blog and realized they were going up by the minute. This was FUN! By the time we left lunch I had over 500 hits, new subscribers and lots of comments. So we parted ways and I went for some groceries and he went for a haircut.

I got home and came in and there was an unexpected gift on the table. I say unexpected because he had already sent me to Branson a few days prior and I had considered that his gift to me. Here is the best part. It was wrapped and said “Happy Birthday Honey!” IN COPY PAPER. So I open it…you will never believe what it was. OK, I’ll tell you. A Chi. A new CHI! Get out of the city!

The rest of the evening went off without a hitch. We played outside, the weather was beautiful, we had a wonderful fish fry and by this time I felt like I was truly loved, blessed and feeling pretty flippin’ happy.

Until……..

 

Right by the garage. But our dog had cornered it. And it went on to be with other snakes in hades. Again… victory on my 39th birthday. ( Oh, btw, this reminds me of another hilarious story… Creepy-Deepy Sneaky Snakes, Have You No Shame?
I ended the day with 1,514 hits on my blog. To a blogger, this is huge, especially when you average 80 on a good day.

My 39th birthday ranked right up there with amazing. Thank you all for being a part. Thank you for reading. And thank you for subscribing. I cannot wait to go back and read your blogs!

Tags: , , , , ,

Categories: family, humor, life, people

Author:onemom4rugrats

I am Rachel. I have a skewed sense of reality and I like to live through my imagination. Unfortuntely, that has taken me down some rocky roads and I am here to share some snippets of what happens when a girl has a mind of her own.

Like it? Well...subscribe then! So I can haunt you via email :)

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

7 Comments on “Yesterday…all my troubles seemed so far away….”

  1. May 13, 2011 at 1:22 pm #

    1,514?! Nice. Sounds like you had an excellent birthday. Oh, and haven’t you heard? 40 is the new 30. 🙂

  2. May 13, 2011 at 7:30 pm #

    Hell no Momfog! 40 in the new 25. 50 is the new 30! 🙂 I think that means you are still a teenager!

    My birthday is next month, do you think WP could give me a birthday present too?

    The snake is scary. Very scary. I came from New Zealand (NO SNAKES) to Australia (most of the top poisonous snakes in the world!!!!).

    • May 16, 2011 at 3:09 pm #

      Yikes on the snakes there! I heard they were bad. At least I found out this one was not poisonous.

  3. May 13, 2011 at 10:40 pm #

    aw, I missed your FP day! Congrats. And happy 39th. I had a water balloon/water fight on many of my birthdays growing up…there is no better form of entertainment in my opinion!

    • May 16, 2011 at 3:08 pm #

      Thanks much!! Sometimes it’s the simple things huh??

  4. May 14, 2011 at 12:46 pm #

    Belated happy birthday! Sounds like it was better than your 9th! Congrats on being featured on FP!

Leave a Reply

