Osama Bin Shot


I’m not going to lie. This morning I was awakened by death surrounding me. And I was saddened. I know it is hard to believe. It is also hard to believe that I used Cascade soap for creamer in my coffee yesterday…but I did.

I was backing out of the driveway this a.m.  when I noticed the cardboard “robot” my girls had constructed a few weeks ago by the side of the dumpster. And a little part of me was mourning the loss of him. I may have even shed a single tear. The kids had made him, displayed him proudly in their rooms and played with him. At first I did not want to bring him home from the Kids Fest. He was too big to fit in the car. And then I realized I was being petty. That this “creation” meant a lot to them.

And then I came inside. And turned on the news. And heard Osama Bin Laden was dead. And I REJOICED! I have more feelings for a cardboard robot than an actual person. And then I was overcome with guilt.  For a milli-second. And then I REJOICED again!

Is it really so wrong to be more saddened by the “death” of a robot made out of old diaper boxes than the death of a person? I have concluded a resounding “NO.” But why??

Because the “person,” the “soul,” the body of this “man” was controlled at the very least,  by evil. At least the cardboard robot was constructed in love. By innocent (well…most of the time) children.

When I reflect on what happened 10 years ago it amazes me. I remember every detail of that day. And I cannot even remember what I did yesterday. I am not even kidding. My “baby” in this picture was 2 weeks old at the time. I was married to her dad and he worked for American Airlines. About two days post, we realized that the airline industry was taking a huge hit and he would be lucky to have a job. He did end up barely keeping it, but had to move to do so…which ended up in a round-about way of wrecking our marriage. The domino effect of what this “man” had pulled off was quiet intense.

After years of barely keeping my head above water,  my life has finally taken a sweet jog upwards, no thanks to Osama. But at any rate, that portion of my life is over. And so is his. And now, the girls robot has met its final demise. The dumpster.

I remember watching that coverage hours and hours, day after day. After about a month of being consumed I finally turned off the T.V. I was making myself literally sick. I had panic attacks which I had never experienced before. I knew no-one who even knew anyone that was murdered that day. So I cannot even pretend to imagine how they felt on that day 10 years ago. But if I am rejoicing today along with the rest of the world, how must they feel?  No single part of me has compassion, remorse, or sorrow. And that is strange for me. Normally I can pick out the most pathetic excuse for a human being and still feel “something.” But I do not.

Today I feel more regret for a cardboard robot meeting his demise than that of a human being.

My title today is also my Facebook status. I noticed that plenty of people “liked” it so I knew I was not too far off in my “thoughts.” No one I know feels guilt about rejoicing on this day of justice.

Today, I salute our military. Hats off to you. God Bless you!

Tags: , , , , ,

Categories: humor, life, news, people

Author:onemom4rugrats

I am Rachel. I have a skewed sense of reality and I like to live through my imagination. Unfortuntely, that has taken me down some rocky roads and I am here to share some snippets of what happens when a girl has a mind of her own.

Like it? Well...subscribe then! So I can haunt you via email :)

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

8 Comments on “Osama Bin Shot”

  1. May 2, 2011 at 11:53 am #

    I totally agree. I am ecstatic because he’s dead. Evil is evil. Mass murderers who kill in the name of God make me sick. I wanted so badly to join in the celebration at Times Square. I had to contain myself from cheering last night when the news broke since my kids were asleep. I thought for one instant I was being callous, but it passed when I saw the ruins of the World Trade Center on the television. It’s a day to celebrate.

    • May 2, 2011 at 12:11 pm #

      I could not agree more. I am sickened to the core . Satan himself resided within him, I am convinced.

  2. Jen Ward
    May 2, 2011 at 3:30 pm #

    I too am relieved. He was unrepentant up until the day he was killed. It’s not like Paul, who persecuted Christians but had a literal come to Jesus moment, changed his ways and became THE champion for Christ in his time. Bin Laden did not have his “Come to Jesus” moment until after his death (meaning too late, buddy!!!) and now he knows there are no 40 virgins waiting for him.

    In order to kill a snake, you have to cut off the head. Al Qaida is the snake, Bin Laden was the head. Killing him had to be done. He would not have gone willingly.

    I am sure I will have to answer in some way to God for my feelings about Bin Laden’s death when my own judgement comes, but right now it’s just how I feel.

    • May 3, 2011 at 10:00 am #

      Jen, I tried to say what you just said but erased it, It did not come out right, so thank you! I am not convinced we will be judged for having these feelings. It would be like God punishing us for being angry with the devil….

      • Jen Ward
        May 3, 2011 at 5:06 pm #

        Thanks! I really do see what our fellow Christians are saying about how we shouldn’t rejoice over his demise, but if Bin Laden was evil incarnate, how can we do anything BUT be at the very least RELIEVED he is DEAD.

  3. May 2, 2011 at 3:40 pm #

    No sorrow or compassion here either. Can’t exactly get excited though…too pessimistic I guess. I think Bin Laden’s empty shoes – er, boots? – will be filled all too soon by someone else just as evil. Nonetheless, love the title and the robot picture! 🙂

    • May 3, 2011 at 10:01 am #

      Thank you for reading ! I was out of commission for a couple of weeks, glad to be back. And.. I totally agree, this is only the beginning…

  4. May 12, 2011 at 6:19 pm #

    Very well done. It’s to your credit that you can articulate your feelings so well. Good job.

Leave a Reply

