Stevie squared. Like father….like daugher.


I have been waiting for the appropriate time to write about a very special person in my life. I knew there was an event coming that I wanted to include in the post so I have been “sitting” on this one for a couple of months.

I want to tell you about my stepdaughter. She lives with us and has for 3 or so years. When I met her 4 years ago, I knew instantly there was no question as to who her daddy was. “Spitting image” is a loose term. The build, the gait and the mannerisms lined up to a “T.” And now after spending a few years with her, I see that she looks to her dad for everything. I see that she “believes” in him and that she does not take him for granted. I think at the age of 13 she knows that most girls this day and age do not have the privilege of having a  relationship like she has with her father.

And there is one other thing that she “gets” from him. His smarts. He is very intelligent, as is she. That would be a nice trait to have! I envy those who do. I have now “hired” her to tutor my 4th and 5th graders for math. You see, they take after me in that arena. Not a good trait to pass down.

Last year she was invited to attend a conference in Washington DC. I believe it was a leadership conference of some sort. A teacher had seen the qualities in her and thought she would be a perfect fit. I knew when she got that recommendation that it would be the first of many. Sadly it was several thousand just to get her there,  so maybe next time….when we win the lottery…..

So, it was no surprise when she came to us a couple of months ago and told us that she would be inducted into the Junior Honor Society. And so this last Friday we attended the ceremony. A very proud Big Injun Man and a very proud step-mom. The ceremony was dark and none of my pics turned out. I am none too happy about that! But what an honor. I know to those that “smarts” come naturally, maybe you do not recognize this as being that big of a deal. But it is. At least to me. I was happy to carry a “C” average in school.

I have been bragging about her accomplishment for a while now. As parents, that is what we do. We are proud. Our children are what makes us tick. Once you have them, you wonder what you ever did for entertainment without them.

Stevie will grow up and be very successful. I have no doubt. She keeps her room spotless without having to be told, she is a little OCD, and she can build or put together anything.  She takes after her dad….who also is named “Stevie.”

I love them both and I very proud they have allowed me to be a part of their lives.

Tags: , , , ,

Categories: children, family, life, marriage, people, relationships

Author:onemom4rugrats

I am Rachel. I have a skewed sense of reality and I like to live through my imagination. Unfortuntely, that has taken me down some rocky roads and I am here to share some snippets of what happens when a girl has a mind of her own.

Like it? Well...subscribe then! So I can haunt you via email :)

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

7 Comments on “Stevie squared. Like father….like daugher.”

  1. Dana
    April 19, 2011 at 10:39 am #

    Yes, she is an incredible young lady, and so BEAUTIFUL!

  2. Christi Stavely
    April 19, 2011 at 10:40 am #

    I love how you love your step kids. You are awesome!

  3. April 19, 2011 at 4:36 pm #

    A beautful post Rachel. I can’t wait to start sharing my stepchildren with readers.

  4. April 19, 2011 at 6:58 pm #

    Bless your heart Rachel. Im so glad both Stevies are in your life. Not every step daughter gets to have a cool stepmom either.

  5. April 19, 2011 at 10:38 pm #

    Very sweet. I love hearing successful blended family stories. Bless your wonderful family!

  6. May 12, 2011 at 6:22 pm #

    Very heart-warming, honest post. Good job.

    • May 12, 2011 at 7:43 pm #

      Thank you for reading beyond the popsicle post. It was not my favorite post and I hoped people would read others as well!

Leave a Reply

