And so I was thinking………..


“What could I write about today?”  Because I have nothing. NADA. Zilch. Z-I-P-P-O…..I don’t feel like talking about my kids, I talk too much about Big Injun Man because I cannot help that I am forever crazy about him…and….believe it or not….my dog or cat has not done anything, absolutely nothing even remotely noteworthy! The nerve of them! Don’t they know they have to do something “blog-worthy” every day?? I did get my cat a new flea collar yesterday…the $8 kind…not the $2 kind. I am pretty proud of myself. Except that every time she walks past me I can smell it. At least it makes me think I got my $$ worth.

<RANDOM THOUGHT> I am mad that I made goulash a couple of nights ago and forgot to take a picture of it to add to my recipe page!

Oh! OH!!!! I know! See, while I was writing randomness….I got a thought! I knew it would happen… so thank you for hanging in there with me!!

I love to cook. I want to cook but never clean the mess. Just cook and let the splattered grease disintegrate before my eyes, the flour jump into the dust pan and land itself into the trash can…and the dishes take flight and carefully position themselves into the dishwasher. Is that too much to ask?? I think not!

Anyhow, I have asked myself the question lately… “Why do I love to cook?” My mom doesn’t like to cook. One time she made chicken and dumplings (one of my favorite foods EVER!) and when she went to stir them she noticed a dark piece of “chicken” in them that she thought was possibly un-appealing and fished it out. Except it was not chicken. It was a HUGE SPIDER! HUGE!!!!! As in tarantula sized! I think they call them wolf spiders but it had a fat body!! EWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWW!

And so she never cooked again.

And we ate peanut butter that night.

But I cook. And now I think I know why. It is not because I really like to cook per say… It is what happens after I cook. (No….not the cleaning part!) It is my way of providing. I like to see people eat and enjoy the food. I like to hear the silence for 10 minutes because they have their mouths too full to talk. I like to comfort. This is my way of comforting. Of providing security. This is the only way I can provide those things. I am good at little to nothing else and so I over-compensate in this area most of the time. I like to cook from scratch. The other day I made Houston’s birthday cake from scratch, every morsel of it. It was SO UGLY.(Here, I will prove it!…go ahead….laugh if you want! ) But it was soooooooo good. The icing was INCREDIBLE. I need to share that recipe. I’ve never made anything like it before. Icing on the stove top. His friend was over and asked… “Did you MAKE that fluffy icing?” Why yes I did. Not too sweet, not too heavy.

So if you come to my house, I will probably make a feast for you. Because I like to see you eat. And enjoy it. And somehow feel “safe.” And somehow I will feel like I did my “part.” As crazy as that may sound.  

By the way, my mom does not like to cook. But when she does, it is very good. It is just not often. She taught me how to make country gravy, some really awesome baked beans in a cast iron skillet…and cat-head biscuits. (Don’t ask.) And don’t eat her chicken and dumps. Not because they won’t be great…but because you will never be able to get the spider image out of your head.

Tags: , , , , ,

Categories: animals, cats, food, humor, recipes

Author:onemom4rugrats

I am Rachel. I have a skewed sense of reality and I like to live through my imagination. Unfortuntely, that has taken me down some rocky roads and I am here to share some snippets of what happens when a girl has a mind of her own.

Like it? Well...subscribe then! So I can haunt you via email :)

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

11 Comments on “And so I was thinking………..”

  1. April 6, 2011 at 2:16 pm #

    love the opening paragraph of this post. we’re all wondering over on my blog, what does “going to sub” mean?

    • April 6, 2011 at 2:27 pm #

      Ah…I feel so honored to have A Freshly Pressed surfing pizza comment on my blog. You now have a new subscriber!

  2. harry the handy man
    April 6, 2011 at 3:18 pm #

    i love the spider you should have cooked it

  3. April 7, 2011 at 5:10 am #

    OK, enough spider talk – I’m bypassing that totally. Funny you mention mothers and gravy. My mother could NEVER make good gravy (not that I sure you mean the same thing as I do when we use the word gravy) so the ONE thing in life I made darn sure I can do perfectly every time is: GRAVY!!! No Gravox in this house, thank you very much! My gravy is made in the roasting dish from the meat juices. 🙂 Yes, I can be pedantic! Oh, that darn spider. Just as well I have “BEWARE THIS ONE” beside you on my blogroll!

    • April 7, 2011 at 9:39 am #

      I love the “warning” you gave me! Makes me want to put the foot pic back up… We do several different kinds of gravy here, one like you mean with meat juices but the kind I mean is a white milk gravy that you would eat with mashed potatoes or biscuits. But biscuit is probably not the same thing there that it is here either… Is Gravox a mix??

      • April 7, 2011 at 9:41 am #

        Biscuits are definitely not he same – what you call a biscuit we call a bread roll or dinner roll. Here a biscuit is what you call a cookie. And the “gravy” you are talking about is (I think) what we call white sauce – mostly for putting on cauliflower!

  4. April 7, 2011 at 9:42 am #

    And yes, Gravox is a meat gravy mix. Horrible darn stuff. Actually, it is not so bad really taste wise – I just refuse to use it!

  5. April 7, 2011 at 9:46 am #

    No, the stuff on cauliflower would be like a hollandaise sauce here. The gravy I mean has some drippings from whatever meat, add flour, whisk in some milk and some salt/pepper. But then we also make a darker gravy that is not milk, it would be from meat drippings also but using a broth making it darker and thinner.

    • April 8, 2011 at 5:39 am #

      Hmmmmm – we would NEVER put MILK in a meat gravy! LOL. Isn’t it funny? Two cultures that a relatively similar, yet so different!

  6. lifewith4cats
    April 7, 2011 at 10:41 pm #

    ok now thats not fair. You know that at least one cat-girl reads your blog, but Im not allowed to ask about the cat head bisquits? I just have to ask. Consider that all I have to go on is this spider story. Enlighten me my dear home cooker. (my bisquits are the hokey puck kind)

Leave a Reply

