“Rough…verrrr-wee rough!”


My phalanges that is…according to the man who gave me my pedicure yesterday. Let me assure you that the following pic is NOT my feet…I would just throw in the towel because there is no fixin’ these footsies! <Due to the possibility of losing my miniscule fan-base….I decided to take the photo down because it was just too gnarly…….>

Can you imagine??? Letting your feet get in this shape? Well… my feet were screamin’ for some attention as well. And as you read yesterday, my husband told me to go buy something fun for myself. So I chose a pedicure. (By the way…when he asked and I told him what I had done, he said… “Is that all? You should have had a manicure and a haircut too!” Either he is really generous and sweet or he was nicely suggesting that my looks needed some attention… I’m going with the former.

I want to start by saying that I adore the Asian culture. I love the food, I love their hospitality and they are always, always very friendly and kind. They are genuine and always want to cater and serve to the highest standards. And, they can ALL do nails. 

When I sat down the sweet little guy asked me about how hot I wanted the water. I said “spare no heat!” And so he did not. He also told me to sit back and relax…I was sitting straight forward while the chair was trying to massage me. I told him I did not know how to relax! “I have four kids at home!”

Who wants luke-warmness? Not I. When I lifted my feet out, they were as red as a beet. The last time I painted my toes was about 3 weeks ago. Right before church because I had decided to wear some open-toed shoes at the last-minute. And then I bumped them on something and they dried that way…and well, it was ugly.

The last time I had a pedicure was in the summer. For some reason my heels are very rough.  When he seen them he said… “Rough…verrrr-wee rough!”  “You want me to fix? I charge extra five dolla.”   “YES, PLEASE!! Charge me ten!!”  And so he went to work. It was bad. It was embarrassing and he kept looking and shaking his head. I finally said.. “Please tell me other people’s are worse?” “Yes, some worse…but not many!” <GULP.>  But I loved his honesty. And he was helping my poor tootsies.  When he was finished I sighed loudly and said it felt like I had lost a few pounds. He said… ” five lbs.” 🙂

After what was one of the best leg massages ever…. he began painting. I told him I was taking pics so I could write a blog about my adventure. I had originally asked for a pink french which he did:

These are my real digits.

I thought we were done. But then he said…”You take picture for blog with flower on toe! Five dolla more!” Well, alrighty then. It was not a question.  “GO FOR IT! And put a rhinestone in the middle!”  So this was the end result!

He said…. “Now take picture!”  And so I did….because I was afraid not to…………. and then he said… “You should have took picture before…. of NASTY feet!”

It was fun. I appreciated his humor, his honesty and his hard work. I paid, gave him a nice tip and then went to dry my toes. Of course I had to take a pic of the “glow in the dark” feature. It always amuses me 🙂

Oh yeah. Big Injun was impressed with how soft they were. Maybe this will be the start of a routine pedicure. Once a month maybe? Hint..hint…

Tags: , ,

Categories: beauty, culture, funny

Author:onemom4rugrats

I am Rachel. I have a skewed sense of reality and I like to live through my imagination. Unfortuntely, that has taken me down some rocky roads and I am here to share some snippets of what happens when a girl has a mind of her own.

Like it? Well...subscribe then! So I can haunt you via email :)

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

8 Comments on ““Rough…verrrr-wee rough!””

  1. March 31, 2011 at 11:37 am #

    Aside from my insane aversion to other people’s feet, great post! Seriously, that first picture made me throw up in my mouth a little bit. Your guy was hilarious. I usually get the ones who can’t (or won’t) speak English. I always wonder what they’re saying and now I know. “Nasty feet. 5 lbs. dead skin.” It’s as bad as I always feared. Hilarious, as always!

    • March 31, 2011 at 4:59 pm #

      I almost did not post that pic, it is so gross……………..but how could I not?!? LOL

  2. lifewith4cats
    March 31, 2011 at 1:39 pm #

    I never mind being hustled when the one doing the hustling is charming and sweet. 5 dolla more.. hahah

    That gross picture is just too gross. yucky.

  3. April 1, 2011 at 4:59 am #

    I have to tell you I saw this post this morning – over my breakfast. The first pic put me off my breakfast and I scuttled off to a blog with lovely ocean views.

    However, I had to come back to see what on earth prompted the use of such horrific imagery.

    I love a pedicure, now I’m not sure I’ll ever think of them the same way!

    • April 1, 2011 at 9:33 am #

      I am sorry, now I am thinking I should take the pic down.

      • April 1, 2011 at 9:44 am #

        I was being facetious! LOL

        I did run away this morning – but it IS an attention grabber! I came back, didn’t I?

  4. April 1, 2011 at 9:45 am #

    Put the pic back! LOL

Leave a Reply

