One Cool Cat


Have you ever *really* stopped taking your cat for granted as a normal, everyday pet and looked at it from a different angle? Have you ever seen the movie “Star Wars” and the creatures they have on there? Well…. those “creatures” were normal to them…. see where I am going with this? And so lately I have been staring at my cat and it’s FREAKIN’ me out! She’s a furry little ball of weirdness! If I did not know what a cat was, and then I seen one for the first time… I would presumably think she was “alien” like. I mean just look at her here…she is FEROCIOUS! (Ok, well maybe I caught her in a Y-A-W-N….) but still!!

Anyway, can someone please identify with the point I am trying to make here? Because I feel all alone. When I try to explain what I mean to people who claim they know and understand me…they look at me like I am a lunatic. A crazed, neurotic psycho-path.

Here is a little interesting factoid about said feline. Check out the length of her tail. Would you guess the length of her mommas tail is NA-DA? VOID. No tail. Ok, she had a tail, about the length of a cocktail wiener.  And she had very short hair. In fact, she was plug ugly. Anyway, Bella’s tail is like twice the length of a normal cat’s tail and all she wants me to do is pull it. I am not allowed to touch her head and she only comes around if you promise to pull her ” I’m over-compensating for my mom’s cocktail wiener” tail.

This cat is awesome. She catches mice. Not one gets away. Then she drops them at my feet and I stand on the furniture until they are dead. Once I stood on top of the couch for an hour and a half while she tossed the mouse around while it was alive. I did eventually have to go to the bathroom at which point I walked from the couch to the end table and went out my garage and was “one” with nature. Here is proof… I took this from the top of the couch:

 

She also catches all bugs and spiders. She leaps like a pole vaulter into the air and then eats them! And then there are the scorpions. We live out in the country with A LOT of rocks around. So occasionally we get scorpions. But she spots them like a squirrel dog and  “trees” them , yet she knows that she dare not make one of those dudes a snack.

Lately I am feeling a little neglected by her. You see, I used to be her best bud. But now… of all people…she ADORES Big Injun Man. I mean… ADORES. He does not like cats…not even remotely. And everyone I have ever seen detests him as well. Well, I guess after a while he decided she was pretty cool with catching all these rodents and bugs so one day he befriended her. Now only his giant hand will suffice in pulling her tail until he is gone and then I am her second choice. But that is OK , because I am just glad they finally became friends because before she would come nowhere near him.

One other little quirky characteristic. About 1 a.m. she comes alive. She starts mimicking that metal ball in a pin-ball machine. She bounces off of every wall, every piece of furniture and goes 100 miles an hour. It is hilarious!

She keeps her distance until she is ready for about 30 seconds of attention, she is independent,  and she keeps the Orkin man away.

She is One. Cool. Cat.

Tags: , , ,

Categories: animals, cats, funny, humor

Author:onemom4rugrats

I am Rachel. I have a skewed sense of reality and I like to live through my imagination. Unfortuntely, that has taken me down some rocky roads and I am here to share some snippets of what happens when a girl has a mind of her own.

Like it? Well...subscribe then! So I can haunt you via email :)

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

4 Comments on “One Cool Cat”

  1. March 19, 2011 at 6:06 am #

    VERY cute cat. But you never struck me as one who would scared of mice!

    Once a friend’s husband was away and she rang my then husband to come over because she had seen a mouse in the house. My then husband arrived to find her standing on the dining room table.

    He never did find the mouse.

  2. Christi Stavely
    March 19, 2011 at 10:34 am #

    She likes for you to pull her tail??? That is weird!

  3. lifewith4cats
    March 19, 2011 at 12:19 pm #

    Rachel you are a kind gentle soul. I smiled at your couch standing.

    I noticed her tale in an earlier post but thought it must be a peice of cloth stuck in the picture. I thought no way can that be a cat tail cause its too long. Wow! maybee you should look into guinness world records.
    I can totaly understand the ‘alien’ angle. But then people often look at me with the same look you often get.

  4. harrythehandyman
    March 19, 2011 at 3:16 pm #

    hi ladies , we used to have a long haired male black persian and he was massive ( because we got him doctored ) and he never stayed in at night which was normal . if a dog came into the house he never moved and twice in the street he stood his ground and fought with dogs . but he got very sick and had to be put down at about the age of 10

Leave a Reply

