Follow the leader? No thanks.


No funny business coming from me today. I have something that has been disturbing me for some time and until I “get it out” I am going to be wallowing in it, and that’s no fun. So…. here goes.

What ever happened to just being yourself?  I see a major trend and it is called “Follow the leader.” Mainly with young folks. The majority of kids are not self-starters, cannot think for themselves or be comfortable in their own skin. They have to act exactly like everyone else,  look like everyone else, and frankly, it disturbs me. It disturbs me mostly because I have three beautiful young girls.  I realize this has been going on for ages , but lately it is consuming our youth and devouring them as if they were worthless. Is this what we want to teach our children? That it is good enough to duplicate what someone else is doing? I understand fashion and fads, I get that and I appreciate it, really I do. However, I am talking about deeper things than that essentially. I am talking about trying to be someone who you are not.  

Hey girls?? Guess what…you are beautiful, JUST the way God made you. God did not deliver damaged goods when He brought you into this world. He did not expect you to be a carbon copy of someone else.  That reminds me of a song by Johnny Diaz… I love, love this song so please take the time to listen:

What if, instead of looking to what is trending, you tried something that you like, and if no one else likes it… then that is all the better! Because you will be unique and secretly people will envy you for having the guts to step outside the box! Trust me , I know! I grew up with peer pressure too, but I did my thing. And I loved it! I was never afraid to just be me.

Girls… please do not allow yourselves to be swallowed up in this deceptive world. When something does not feel comfortable that you are trying to duplicate…do not do it!!! God will give you a peace about your actions and decisions and bless you for loving you, for whom you are.

Tags: , , , , , , ,

Categories: beauty, girls, life

Author:onemom4rugrats

I am Rachel. I have a skewed sense of reality and I like to live through my imagination. Unfortuntely, that has taken me down some rocky roads and I am here to share some snippets of what happens when a girl has a mind of her own.

Like it? Well...subscribe then! So I can haunt you via email :)

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

3 Comments on “Follow the leader? No thanks.”

  1. harrythehandyman
    March 17, 2011 at 5:18 pm #

    i think i understand what you mean.my sons marriage broke up and he came to live with us with his son and step daughter ( mother ) did not want them ) everything was fine UNTIL senior school at 12 .as always happens they go to social sites with friends ( on my pc ) but the sites kept a log on my pc of coarse i wanted to see what see was up to.worst thing i did it shocked my what she was up to at 13 so i told her i knew . to cut it short she left here at 16 and has not been back. she was beautiful and we both loved her and helped her she went to modeling , acting school , but stopped everything . i have made up my mind she will never be back in my life. kids they don’t really care they live for the moment and take what comes . as you say they cannot think for themselves and MUST follow they crowd. thats enough i could rant all night about kids

  2. March 18, 2011 at 4:49 pm #

    Good message! The more things “change”, the more they are the same.
    Dianne @
    http://buterflydreamz.blogspot.com/2011/03/follow-friday_18.html

  3. March 18, 2011 at 6:56 pm #

    This post reminded me of something I wrote, which I think you might find interesting. https://oyeniyicommentary.wordpress.com/2010/12/12/your-genitals-are-beautiful/

    I won’t be offended if you think this link is inappropriate on your blog! I just wanted to draw the article to your attention as I think the situation is terrible! Check out the actual newspaper article my entry links to.

Leave a Reply

