I am gullible. Hear me roar!


In the late spring of my sophomore year,  my phone rang and I answered it only to hear a muffled “Hello” followed by a gurgling, bubbly voice saying,  “Are you there?”  “Well, yes, of course I am here but why do you sound like you are underwater?”  “Because I am.”   Well alrighty then.

My best guy friend had just called me…from underwater. We held an entire conversation for at least 15 minutes. 25 years ago there were no nifty gadgets, no phone apps,  and no special waterproof technology that would allow him to do this. In fact, I was using a rotary home phone as was he. And so I argued with him for a few minutes over the fact that there was no way he was calling me from his swimming pool. Underwater no less.

After about 15 minutes of the continual “gurgling & bubbling” sounds, he had me convinced. Indeed, some how, some way, he had attached the phone to the outside of the pool, went under water with a snorkel and called me. Much to my surprise, the next day at school when he spotted me he doubled over with uncontrolled laughter until his face was beet red! “You believed me!” “You thought I was really underwater!”  <ahem…could you take it down about 700 decibels please?!?> “I wasn’t underwater! I was sitting beside my aquarium!”  It was about this time that I lunged towards him and began inflicting bodily harm. OK, not really….but I wanted to! So bad! I had been duped. Again! This was not the first time and certainly would never be the last. 20 (ish) years later the first thing he reminds me of when he sees me is our “underwater conversation.”

So around this same time, I decided to get a little job at a local drive-up hamburger joint. I had worked there less than a week making ice cream cones and pushing burgers through a screen window to local patrons when the owner asked me to “go burn the outside trash in the can.”  OK, easy enough.  And so, in doing what my boss had asked of me, I lit a match and threw it into the can. I was a little leery because I had never burned trash before and was not sure what to expect but I do remember thinking… “Wow, this must be a really heavy-duty can to withstand the heat.” But it wasn’t…and it didn’t. The can was plastic. Flat-out highly capable of melting, but quick.   And so I went inside and pretended that I did not notice when a customer came to the window shouting that our trash can was on fire. Apparently I was to have taken the trash, dumped it onto the large metal incinerator out back and then set it on fire.  Shortly thereafter I voluntarily quit. Or upon further thinking….perhaps I was gently “nudged” out the door.

Naive? Gullible? Or just plain DUMB? Suffice it to say, I think it was a combo of them all. I would like to think now days I can at least drop the “dumb” part but every now and then I make a mistake or ten.

Lately, with my kids, I have been trying to decipher between what are genuine mistakes, immaturity, and what is just a blatant lack of dis-regard or responsibility. I want my children to enjoy their childhood and be able to be kids while they still have the chance.  I want them to make mistakes and not make the same one again, and I want them to believe in plenty while being able to “spit out the sticks and eat the hay.”

While one person hesitates because he feels inferior, the other is busy making mistakes and becoming superior.  ~Henry C. Link

Tags: , , , , ,

Categories: children, funny, humor, life

Author:onemom4rugrats

I am Rachel. I have a skewed sense of reality and I like to live through my imagination. Unfortuntely, that has taken me down some rocky roads and I am here to share some snippets of what happens when a girl has a mind of her own.

Like it? Well...subscribe then! So I can haunt you via email :)

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

3 Comments on “I am gullible. Hear me roar!”

  1. lifewith4cats
    March 14, 2011 at 11:10 pm #

    What a funny story about the trash. But then how were you to know if no one told you?

    Its like that timeI tried to help my mom make macaroni n cheese (from a box) I dumped the cheese packet into the boiling pan of water. She was pretty mad but I thought I was helping.

    • March 14, 2011 at 11:20 pm #

      Well, that was where I had intended to go with the story and I got sidetracked and forgot to put it in the post. You have to learn and be told how to do things. And with your macaroni story…my daughter did exactly the same thing! In the past, I would have maybe gotten mad but I am learning that they have to be told…detail by tiny detail in order to learn. This is hard for me because I am a very impatient person 🙂

  2. lifewith4cats
    March 14, 2011 at 11:44 pm #

    Kids have a tendancy to teach us even as we teach them. Its kind of a blessing and a curse at the same time.

Leave a Reply

