10 reasons why I like Houston. Not the city.


I am mom to four kids. Stair-steps: 4th, 5th, 6th and 7th graders. Every single one of them are smart, healthy, fabulous kids. Houston is sandwiched amongst the 3 girls. I would say that I might feel sorry for him, yet he thrives in the midst of estrogen driven, pre-pubescent, hormonal girls. He moved in with our blended family two years ago and he brought balance and even peace to our home.  The reason he thrives is because he chooses to. He loves life and here are 10 reasons why,   I LIKE HOUSTON:

10. He wears a fanny-pack to school because he thinks it is cool. (Even though not one other kid wears one.)

  9. He only gets multi-player video games so all of his sisters can also play on his personal system and he bought additional controllers with his own money so they would be able to play along with him.

  8. His nostrils are lop-sided, and he does not care.

  7. He eats an entire four-course meal on a saucer.

  6. He never tries to intentionally get his siblings in trouble. In fact, he covers for them.

  5. He likes to help me cook.

  4. He is not afraid to go to Zumba, even though no other boys are in the class.

  3. He thinks even the smallest things are “AMAZING!” A package of skittles or when they shoot air into his eyes at the eye doctor. By the way, he is very easy to buy for because he is so grateful.

  2. He made this face today when he was trying to insert contacts for the first time:

  1.  And finally, the number one reason I like Houston is because while I am his step-mom, he treats me as his own. He brings joy to me and very rarely gives me any grief. He has a heart of gold and will give you the shirt off of his back.  He picks on me and tries to irritate me. That is a boys way of saying that they love you.

My girls are all so wonderful in their own right and I will save that for another post someday, but today, he made me smile when I took him back to school from the eye doctor. He got out of the car and took a few steps, turned back and smiled and said… “Thank you for taking me, Mom.”  and then he went on…fanny pack and all.

Tags: , , , , ,

Categories: children, family

Author:onemom4rugrats

I am Rachel. I have a skewed sense of reality and I like to live through my imagination. Unfortuntely, that has taken me down some rocky roads and I am here to share some snippets of what happens when a girl has a mind of her own.

Like it? Well...subscribe then! So I can haunt you via email :)

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

3 Comments on “10 reasons why I like Houston. Not the city.”

  1. Crystal
    March 11, 2011 at 1:28 pm #

    This came dangerously close to making me cry Rach! Beautiful post and beautiful relationship you have with him!

  2. March 12, 2011 at 12:49 am #

    I hope I can write as beautiful a post when my four stepchilcren come home, finally.

    Houston sounds like a real little cutie!

Leave a Reply

