Bawk, bawk, be-gawk!


I have become a chicken.  It started two years ago, and there were eggs involved. 
 

This morning I ever so subtly suggested to Big Injun Man that I did not want to drive the kids to school.  Why you ask? Because it is raining. With a sprinkling of lightning and thunder thrown in. The leading edge was here but it was not full-blown storm yet. I had time to take them but alas,  I am a chicken.  You see, 2 years and exactly 1 month ago to the day, my mom and I were in a wreck that totalled my van. 

“Pre-wreck” days I zipped around Tulsa like I was a Nascar aficionado. I enjoyed getting out and nothing intimidated me.

So on this particular day, my mom was in visiting from Arkansas and we decided to go to Tulsa for groceries. While in the store , I ran into a friend of mine who proceeded to tell me that her son had just gotten into a wreck and had broken a lot of his teeth. But the one thing that stood out for him the most was the smell that came from the deployed air bags.

So, Mom and I left the store and was getting ready to exit left onto the freeway when someone tried to beat the light and t-boned my van, and my poor mom. Immediately I smelled the smell that my friend had spoken of only 30 minutes prior. I checked on my mom who came around eventually…..found her shoe under my gas pedal and her earrings in the cup-holder..and oh…. a dozen eggs had met their demise. For the most part, we were OK physically. But, little did I know that two years later I would not be OK mentally.

Now when it comes to driving, I am terrified, panic-stricken and petrified. It makes me sad, I want to be free from the terrificiation.  ( <–I made that word up just now and I LIKE it and will file it for use again one day!)

Anyway, back to this morning.  Guess who took the kids to school? That’s right. A Big Injun Man in a fuzzy robe. Last night he blew a tire out and today he drives with a fuzzy robe on? I mean really man!?! What if he blows another tire out and he is stuck on the road. Well, I am not coming, because I am afraid to drive.  My “terrification”  (<—wow, that didn’t take long to re-use) has gotten the best of me and I am a chicken.  BAWK BAWK BE-GAWK!

Tags: , , , , ,

Categories: humor, Uncategorized

Author:onemom4rugrats

I am Rachel. I have a skewed sense of reality and I like to live through my imagination. Unfortuntely, that has taken me down some rocky roads and I am here to share some snippets of what happens when a girl has a mind of her own.

Like it? Well...subscribe then! So I can haunt you via email :)

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

