Pot pie man designed my kitchen.


I think someone taught wood shop at an elementary school around here and the project was cabinet making. I believe they then took the rejected cabinets of small children and installed them in my kitchen.  You should see my cabinets and work space.  It’s not for the weak-minded nor the culinary lover. I am just going to say it out right. A man designed it. No woman had any say-so in the thought process.  Most likely a man whom eats pot-pies. Probably not even Marie Callendars. Probably the .33 Banquet brand. And,  he eats them alone. Alone.

Now I have moved into his house. I do not do pot-pies. I cook a lot. From scratch, and use an absorbent amount of pots/pans and spices.  

Enter:  “The Cabinet Man.” He scares me. I am awaiting his call. The call that could determine whether my kitchen continues down this lonely path of depravity or the one of  simmery, sizzled, broiled, flavorful utopia.  But of course, I pray diligently for the latter.

The “dining” area was made for, well… have you seen that show on TLC called , “Little People, Big World?” Yeah, ummm, we are not little. Not a one of us. No siree Bob. “The” boy is kind of “normal” but that’s the closest I can come up with.  So, the cabinet man insists we take out a wall to open up the dining room into the living area. I will actually be able to fit a dining room table and he is planning ripping out the pathetic excuse that “pot-pie man” deemed a bar and replace it with a large island. I will have ample seating, storage, work-space my very favorite tidbit… a spice drawer!

A spice drawer opens up all kinds of new possibilities. I have no less than 100 spices. I am not kidding. I think I will take a picture to prove it.

What you do not see is another section and a deep corner that is also filled to the max.  This spice thing I have going, It’s a sick obsession. I cannot stop. Trust me, I have tried. But I have resolved that I am not dull. Nor shall my food be. If you have any less than 100 spices in your “spice library” then I am not sure we could ever be kindred spirits.

And so I await the “call.” Please be do-able. I cannot go on much longer living in a kitchen designed by a man considers that a “banquet” a pot-pie. Join me if you will in my quest for a new kitchen, forward this on to your prayer partners, circle of friends and free kitchen give-a-ways if you will.

Tags: , , ,

Categories: food, humor

Author:onemom4rugrats

I am Rachel. I have a skewed sense of reality and I like to live through my imagination. Unfortuntely, that has taken me down some rocky roads and I am here to share some snippets of what happens when a girl has a mind of her own.

Like it? Well...subscribe then! So I can haunt you via email :)

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

2 Comments on “Pot pie man designed my kitchen.”

  1. Gina Johnson
    February 17, 2011 at 6:36 pm #

    Wow….Prayin for your new cabinets island and spice drawer….and to finally have a dining area…good luck and be patient……your stories really amuse me girl…lol

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Why I may start wearing my pj’s to shop in: Or not. « Mixin' it up: Goulash style - March 4, 2011

    […] my life forever by giving me a new kitchen?? (please refer back here for the complete story. https://southerngoulash.wordpress.com/2011/02/17/pot-pie-man-designed-my-kitchen/ )  Well, guess what he just bought?  That’s correct. You heard it here first. The […]

Leave a Reply

