What in tarnation? Pinnochio’s missing!


My claim to fame is that I once knew someone whom I think was a distant relative to me, say that I may be related to George Washington. There… I  finally said it. I know you are jealous.  Then that same someone invited me to join the group “Six Degrees of Separation”  on Facebook and thus my bragging rights were quickly dashed.

Speaking of George Washington, when I was but a young whippersnapper, my sister and I  had a Pinnochio penny bank, full of one dollar coins that we had acquired via a wealthy aunt & uncle . Pinnochio was plastic, and all I have to say is “good thing air is free” because the schnoz on this perjurer was enough to deplete the heavens.

One day my sister and I went to raid Pinnochio with full intentions of leaving him void of anything of monetary value. Utterly bewildered, where the fibber once sat, we found nothing.

 N O T H I N G.  An empty space of nothingness. Nada….  “Perhaps Pinnochio had gone on yet another adventure with Jiminy Cricket!” I proclaimed. My sister whom was never really diplomatic with her words simply stated “Someone stole him you idiot!”

How could it be?? Surely no one we knew and certainly no one we allowed in our rooms would take pleasure in stealing from two innocent children such as we were…would they?? As it turned out, they had taken our beloved coins and  our even more cherished bank. Shortly thereafter, I had a bicycle that turned up missing. For about a week. Then it showed back up..parked in the same spot it was stolen from. Had this been the same thief? Where was my bank?! I wanted my bank back! 

As it turned out, we never recovered our beloved Pinnochio but I always remembered the bike turning back up and thought to myself that this “person” who shall remain nameless in honor of the 5th amendment…must have had a conscience. Perhaps Pinnocho was meant to reside elsewhere for the sake of teaching a lesson.  In the great words of the Blue Fairy..  “Now, remember, Pinocchio: be a good boy. And always let your conscience be your guide.

Tags: , ,

Categories: childhood, children

Author:onemom4rugrats

I am Rachel. I have a skewed sense of reality and I like to live through my imagination. Unfortuntely, that has taken me down some rocky roads and I am here to share some snippets of what happens when a girl has a mind of her own.

Like it? Well...subscribe then! So I can haunt you via email :)

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

